Skip to main content

These programs have admitted at least one class of students and have been granted Candidate for Accreditation status by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education. Candidacy status indicates that a program is making satisfactory progress toward compliance with accreditation criteria, but it does not assure that a program will achieve accreditation. (Note: Date indicates anticipated graduation of first class.)

ALABAMA

Lurleen B Wallace Community College
Michael Dougherty, MS, BA, PTA
Program Director
Physical Therapist Assistant Program
750 Greenville By-Pass
Greenville, AL 36037-3754
Program Director: 334/382-2133
tdougherty@lbwcc.edu 
First Class Graduates: 05/2022

Southern Union State Community College
Jeffrey Leatherman, PT, DPT, MS
Program Director
Physical Therapist Assistant Program
Southern Union State Community College
321 Fob James Dr
Valley, AL 36854
Program Director: 334/756-4151
jleatherman@suscc.edu 
First Class Graduates: 12/2021

CALIFORNIA

Bakersfield College
Suzanne Oesch, PT, DPT
Program Director
Physical Therapist Assistant Program
1801 Panorama Dr.
Bakersfield, CA 93305-1219
Phone: 661/395-3583
suzanne.oesch@bakersfieldcollege.edu
First Class Graduates: 12/2023

Institute of Technology - Modesto
James J Pacini, PTA, MEd
Program Director
Physical Therapist Assistant Program
5601 Stoddard Rd.
Modesto, CA 95356
Phone: 209/545-3100
jjpacini@iot.edu
First Class Graduates: 06/2023

Shasta College
Marcee Martinez, PT, MPT
Program Director
Physical Therapist Assistant Program
1400 Market Street, Suite 8204
Redding, CA 96001
Program Director: 530/339-3629
mmartinez@shastacollege.edu
First Class Graduates: 12/2022

COLORADO

Pikes Peak Community College
Joseph M Miller, PT, DSc, OCS, SCS, CSCS
Program Chair
Physical Therapist Assistant Program
5675 South Academy Boulevard
Colorado Springs, CO 80907
Program Director: 719/502-3486
JosephM.Miller@ppcc.edu 

FLORIDA

ECPI University-Florida
Kandy Mills, PT, DPT, GCS, CEEAA
Program Director
Physical Therapist Assistant Program
ECPI University-Florida
660 Century Point, Suite 1050
Lake Mary, FL 32746
Program Director: 407/562-9100
kmills@ecpi.edu 
First Class Graduates: 04/2023

Northwest Florida State College
Susan DeSmith, PT, DPT
Program Director
Physical Therapist Assistant Program
1170 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547
Program Director: 850/863-6511
desmiths@nwfsc.edu
First Class Graduates: 12/2022

ILLINOIS

Prairie State College
Carol Fawcett, PTA, MEd
Program Director
Physical Therapist Assistant Program
202 South Halsted Street
Chicago Heights, IL 60411-8226
Program Director: 708/709-3597
cfawcett@prairiestate.edu 
First Class Graduates: 05/2023

KENTUCKY

Maysville Community and Technical College – Montgomery Campus
Mary Alice Prater, PT, DPT
Program Director
Physical Therapist Assistant Program
201 Calk Avenue
Mt. Sterling, KY 40353
Program Director: 859/499-6282 x66509
maryalice.prater@kctcs.edu
First Class Graduates: 12/2022

MARYLAND

Frederick Community College
Amelia Iams, PT, DPT
Program Director
Physical Therapist Assistant Program
7932 Opossumtown Pike
Frederick, MD 21702
Program Director: 301/846-2400
aiams@frederick.edu 

MISSISSIPPI

Mississippi Delta Community College
Elizabeth "Callie" Bell, PT, DPT
Program Director
Physical Therapist Assistant Program
2900 MS-1
Greenville, MS 38701
Program Director: 662/332-0675
cbell@msdelta.edu
First Class Graduates: 05/2022

Northwest Mississippi Community College
Barton Allen, PT, DPT
Program Director
Physical Therapist Assistant Program
4975 Highway 51 North
Senatobia, MS 38668-1714
Program Director: 662/562-3247
ballen@northwestms.edu 

OHIO

Lakeland Community College
Jason H Ashby, PT, MPT
Program Director
Physical Therapist Assistant Program
7700 Clocktower Dr., Building H
Kirtland, OH 44094-5198
Program Director: 440/525-7470
jashby5@lakelandcc.edu 
First Class Graduates: 05/2023

VIRGINIA

Virginia Western Community College
Jordan M Tucker, PT, DPT
Program Director
Physical Therapist Assistant Program
3091 Colonial Avenue
Roanoke, VA 24015
Program Director: 540/857-6728
jtucker@virginiawestern.edu
First Class Graduates: 05/2024

WEST VIRGINIA

New River Community and Technical College
Angela M Strickland, PT, DPT
Program Director
Physical Therapist Assistant Program
New River Community and Technical College
280 University Drive
Beaver, WV 25813
Program Director: 304/929-5036
astrickland@newriver.edu 
First Class Graduates: 08/2022