• (A) Candidates for Accreditation

    These programs have admitted at least one class of students and have been granted Candidate for Accreditation status by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education. Candidacy status indicates that a program is making satisfactory progress toward compliance with accreditation criteria, but it does not assure that a program will achieve accreditation. (Note: Date indicates anticipated graduation of first class.)

    CALIFORNIA

    Institute of Technology - Clovis Campus
    Adeel Rizvi, PT, DPT, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    564 W. Herndon Ave
    Clovis, CA 93720
    Program Director: 559/297-4500
    arizvi@iot.edu
    First Class Graduates: 06/13/2019

    COLORADO

    Morgan Community College
    Jeffrey Coon, MPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    920 Barlow Road
    Fort Morgan, CO 80701
    Program Director: 970/542-3225
    Jeffrey.Coon@Morgancc.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2019

    FLORIDA

    Eastern State Florida College
    Kristin Schroeder, PT, DPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    1519 Clearlake Road, Building 3, Room 114F
    Cocoa, FL 32922
    Program Director: 321/433-7115
    schroederk@easternflorida.edu

    First Class Graduates: 05/2018

    Keiser University - Melbourne
    Sharon Dunn, MPT, MSHSA
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    900 South Babcock Street
    Melbourne, FL 32901
    Program Director: 321/409-4800
    sdunn@keiseruniversity.edu
    First Class Graduates: 04/2018

    ILLINOIS

    City Colleges of Chicago - Malcolm X College
    Elizabeth Arena, MSPT
    Director, Medical Programs
    1900 E Van Buren
    Chicago, IL 60612
    Program Director: 312/850-7856
    earena1@ccc.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2018

    MINNESOTA

    Rasmussen College - Brooklyn Park/Maple Grove
    Matthew Vraa, PT, DPT, MBA, OCS, FAAOMPT, CMTPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    8301 93rd Avenue North
    Brooklyn Park, MN 55445
    Program Director: 763/496-6022
    Matthew.Vraa@rasmussen.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/2018

    MISSOURI

    Central Methodist University
    Jennifer Spielbauer, PT, MSPT
    Program Director and Assistant Professor
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    411 Central Methodist Square
    Fayette, MO 65248
    Program Director: 660/248-6640
    jspielba@centralmethodist.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/2018

    NEW JERSEY

    Rowan College at Gloucester County
    LaVonne E Couch, PT, EdD, CSCS
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    1400 Tanyard Road
    Sewell, NJ 08080-4222
    Program Director: 856/415-2190
    lcouch@rcgc.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2018

    NEW YORK

    Bryant & Stratton College - Southtowns
    Maureen M Schichtel, PT, DPT, CCI
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    200 Redtail Road
    Orchard Park, NY 14127-1562
    Program Director: 716/677-9500
    mschichtel@bryantstratton.edu
    First Class Graduates: 04/2018

    Bryant & Stratton College - Syracuse
    Kirsten M Nielsen, PT, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    953 James Street
    Syracuse, NY 13203-2502
    Program Director: 315/472-6603
    knielsen@bryantstratton.edu
    First Class Graduates: 04/2018

    OHIO

    Bryant & Stratton College - Parma
    Deborah Zagray, PT, DScPT, CMPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    12955 Snow Road
    Parma, OH 44130-1005
    Program Director: 216/265-0325 ext. 278
    dlzagray@bryantstratton.edu
    First Class Graduates: 04/2018

    OKLAHOMA

    Connors State College - Indian Capital Technology Center
    Sarah Foster, AAS, MPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    2403 N 41st Street East
    Muskogee, OK 74403
    Program Director: 918/913-3928
    sarah.foster@ictctech.com
    First Class Graduates: 04/2018

    PENNSYLVANIA

    Montgomery County Community College
    Robert Cullen, PT, JD, MBA
    Director of Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    340 DeKalb Pike, SC 241
    Blue Bell, PA 19422
    Program Director: 215/619-7361
    rcullen@mc3.edu
    First Class Graduates: 5/16/2019

    Pennsylvania College of Technology
    Nancy Wood, PT, MS
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    One College Avenue
    Williamsport, PA 17701-5799
    Program Director: 570/327-2400, ext. 7605
    new3@pct.edu
    First Class Graduates: 08/2018

    PUERTO RICO

    Atenas College
    Naborí Benítez Viera PTA, MPhEd
    Program Coordinator
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    PO BOX 365
    Manati, PR 00674
    Program Director: 787/552-3838
    prof.y.collazo@atenascollege.edu
    First Class Graduates: 03/2018

    National University College
    Mariely Torres Meléndez, PTA, MPH
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    PO BOX 2036
    Bayamon, PR 00961
    Program Director: 787/780-5134
    mtorres2@nuc.edu
    First Class Graduates: 07/2018

    WISCONSIN

    Bryant & Stratton College - Wauwatosa
    Rebecca Thomas, PT, CMTPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    10950 W. Potter Road
    Wauwatosa, WI 53226-3424
    Program Director: 414/302-7000
    rjthomas@bryantstratton.edu
    First Class Graduates: 04/2018

    (B) Applicants for Candidacy: Application for Candidacy Submitted

    These programs are in varying degrees of development. They have begun the process toward accreditation by submitting an Application for Candidacy. The Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education has not yet granted Candidate for Accreditation status to these programs.

    ARKANSAS

    UA Cossatot
    Jennifer Sanderson, PT, MS
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    1411 N. Constitution
    Ashdown, AR 71822
    Program Director: 870/584-1488
    jbowman@cccua.edu

    CALIFORNIA

    California Baptist University
    Jan Edmisten, PT, DSc, CNS
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    8432 Magnolia Avenue
    Riverside, CA 92504
    Program Director: 951/343-4539
    jedmisten@calbaptist.edu

    FLORIDA

    Rasmussen College - Land O'Lakes/East Pasco
    Mark Shepherd, PT, DPT, OCS, FAAOMPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    18600 Fernview Street
    Land O'Lakes, FL 34638
    Program Director: 952/806-3939
    mark.shepherd@rasmussen.edu

    OKLAHOMA

    Seminole State College - Gordon Cooper Technology Center
    Shakira Judeh, AA, BS, MPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    One John C. Bruton Blvd.
    Shawnee, OK 74804
    Program Director: 405/214-3203
    shakiraj@gctech.edu

    (C) Programs with Full-Time Program Director

    These programs are placed on this list when the Department of Accreditation is officially notified that a Program Director has been employed. These programs are in the early stages of development; no students have been admitted.

    CALIFORNIA

    Institute of Technology - Redding
    Joshua Green, BS, MA
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    1755 Hilltop Drive
    Redding, CA 96002
    Program Director: 530/224-1000
    jgreen@iot.edu

    Pima Medical Institute - San Marcos
    Enid Halewyn, PT, DPT, MAT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    251 North City Drive, Suite 122
    San Marcos, CA 92078
    Program Director: 760/299-4500
    ehalewyn@pmi.edu

    FLORIDA

    ASA College
    Jerry Benetatos, PT, BHS, MPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    530 West 49th Street
    Hialeah, FL 33012
    Program Director: 786/279-2643 ext. 4924
    ehalewyn@pmi.edu

    GEORGIA

    Central Georgia Technical College
    Mary A Walker, PT, MPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    80 Cohen Walker Dr.
    Warner Robins, GA 31088
    Program Director: 478/218-3765
    mawalker@centralgatech.edu 

    ILLINOIS

    McHenry County College
    Christen Louderman, PT, DPT
    Director of Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    8900 U.S. Highway 14
    Crystal Lake, IL 60012
    Program Director: 815/479-7592
    clouderman@mchenry.edu 

    William Rainey Harper College
    Rita Gura, BS, PT, DPT
    Director of Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    1200 W. Algonquin
    Palatine, IL 60067
    Program Director: 847/925-6861
     rgura@harpercollege.edu

    MINNESOTA

    Herzing University - Minneapolis
    Tamara Felegy, BS, MPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    5700 West Broadway
    Crystal, MN 55428
    Program Director: 763/231-3181
    tfelegy@herzing.edu

    MISSISSIPPI

    Mississippi Delta Community College
    Carmen Cooper Oguz, PT, DPT, MBA
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    Greenville Higher Education Center (GHEC)
    Mississippi Delta Community College
    Greenville, MS 38701
    Program Director: 662/588-3928
    coguz@msdelta.edu

    Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College
    Eric Shawl, PT, DPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College
    Perkinston, MS 39573-3374
    Program Director: 601/928-6203
    eric.shawl@mgccc.edu

    NORTH CAROLINA

    Rowan-Carrabus Community College
    Anna Marie Prado
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    North Campus
    1333 Jake Alexander Blvd. South, P.O. Box 1595
    Salisbury, NC 28145
    Program Director: 704/216-7180
    annamarie.prado@rccc.edu

    TENNESSEE

    Southern Adventist University
    Christopher Stewart, DPT, MBA
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    PO Box 370
    Collegedale, TN
    Program Director: 423/236-2858
    cbstewart@southern.edu

    VIRGINIA

    Patrick Henry Community College
    Julie Martin, PT, DPT, BS
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    645 Patriot Ave.
    Martinsville, VA 24112-6693
    jmartin@patrickhenry.edu

  • Last Updated: 11/9/2017
    Contact: accreditation@apta.org