• (A) Candidates for Accreditation

    These programs have admitted at least one class of students and have been granted Candidate for Accreditation status by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education. Candidacy status indicates that a program is making satisfactory progress toward compliance with accreditation criteria, but it does not assure that a program will achieve accreditation. (Note: Date indicates anticipated graduation of first class.)

    CALIFORNIA

    Institute of Technology - Redding
    Joshua Green, PT, MA
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    1755 Hilltop Drive
    Redding, CA 96002
    Program Director: 530/224-1000
    jgreen@iot.edu
    First Class Graduates: 07/2021

    Mendocino College
    Sara Bogner, PT, MS
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    1000 Henley Creek Road
    Ukiah, CA 95482
    Program Director: 707/467-1062
    sbogner@mendocino.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/2021

    Pima Medical Institute - San Marcos
    Laura A Sage, PT, DPT, MEd
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    111 Campus Way, Suite 100
    San Marcos, CA 92078
    Program Director: 760/299-4511
    lsage@pmi.edu
    First Class Graduates: 07/2021

    FLORIDA

    Keiser University - Fort Myers
    Kimberly Salyers, PTA, EdD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    9100 Forum Corporate Parkway
    Fort Myers, FL 33905-7802
    Program Director: 239/277-1336
    ksalyers@keiseruniversity.edu
    First Class Graduates: 11/2021

    Rasmussen College - Ocala
    Stella Nemuseso, PT, DPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    4755 SW 46th Court
    Ocala, FL 34474
    Program Director: 352/291-8512
    stella.nemuseso@rasmussen.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/2021

    GEORGIA

    Central Georgia Technical College
    Mary A Walker, PT, MPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    80 Cohen Walker Dr.
    Warner Robins, GA 31088
    Program Director: 478/218-3765
    mawalker@centralgatech.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/2020

    ILLINOIS

    McHenry County College
    Christen Louderman, PT, DPT
    Director of Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    8900 U.S. Highway 14
    Crystal Lake, IL 60012
    Program Director: 815/479-7592
    clouderman@mchenry.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/2020

    William Rainey Harper College
    Rita Gura, PT, DPT
    Director of Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    1200 W. Algonquin
    Palatine, IL 60067
    Program Director: 847/925-6861
     rgura@harpercollege.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/2020

    MINNESOTA

    Herzing University - Minneapolis
    Tamara Felegy, PT, MPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    435 Ford Rd.
    St. Louis Park, MN 55426
    Program Director: 763/231-3181
    tfelegy@herzing.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/2020

    MISSISSIPPI

    Mississippi Delta Community College
    Elizabeth "Callie" Bell, PT, DPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    2900 MS-1
    Greenville, MS 38701
    Program Director: 662/332-0675
    cbell@msdelta.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2021

    Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College
    Eric Shawl, PT, DPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College
    51 Main Street
    Perkinston, MS 39573-3374
    Program Director: 601/928-6203
    eric.shawl@mgccc.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2021

    NORTH CAROLINA

    Rowan-Carrabus Community College
    Anna Marie Prado, PTA, MEd
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    North Campus
    1333 Jake Alexander Blvd. South, P.O. Box 1595
    Salisbury, NC 28145
    Program Director: 704/216-7180
    annamarie.prado@rccc.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/2020

    TENNESSEE

    Southern Adventist University
    Christopher Stewart, PT, DPT, MBA
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    PO Box 370
    Collegedale, TN
    Program Director: 423/236-2858
    cbstewart@southern.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/2020

    VIRGINIA

    Patrick Henry Community College
    Julie Martin, PT, DPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    645 Patriot Ave.
    Martinsville, VA 24112-6693
    jmartin@patrickhenry.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/2021

    (B) Applicants for Candidacy: Application for Candidacy Submitted

    These programs are in varying degrees of development. They have begun the process toward accreditation by submitting an Application for Candidacy. The Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education has not yet granted Candidate for Accreditation status to these programs.

    ALABAMA

    Southern Union State Community College
    Jeffrey Leatherman, PT, DPT, MS
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    Valley Campus
    321 Fob James Drive
    Valley, AL 36854
    Program Director: 334/756-4151
    jleatherman@suscc.edu

    CALIFORNIA

    Shasta College
    Marcee Martinez, PT, MPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    1400 Market Street, Suite 8204
    Redding, CA 96001
    Program Director: 530/339-3629
    mmartinez@shastacollege.edu

    FLORIDA

    Northwest Florida State College
    Susan DeSmith, PT, DPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    1170 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd
    Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547
    Phone: 850/863-6511
    desmiths@nwfsc.edu

    KENTUCKY

    Maysville Community and Technical College – Montgomery Campus
    Mary Alice Prater, PT, DPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    201 Calk Avenue
    Mt. Sterling, KY 40353
    Program Director: 859/499-6282 x66509
    maryalice.prater@kctcs.edu

    (C) Programs with Full-Time Program Director

    These programs are placed on this list when the Department of Accreditation is officially notified that a Program Director has been employed. These programs are in the early stages of development; no students have been admitted.

    ALABAMA

    Lurleen B Wallace Community College
    Michael Dougherty, MS, BA, PTA
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    750 Greenville By-Pass
    Greenville, AL 36037-3754
    Program Director: 334/382-2133 Ext:3212
    tdougherty@lbwcc.edu

    CALIFORNIA

    Bakersfield College
    Suzanne Oesch, PT, DPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    1801 Panorama Dr.
    Bakersfield, CA 93305-1219
    suzanne.oesch@bakersfieldcollege.edu

    Institute of Technology - Modesto
    James J Pacini, PTA, MEd
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    5601 Stoddard Road
    Modesto, CA 95356
    Program Director: 209/545-3100
    jjpacini@iot.edu

    Unitek College
    Suzanne Reese, PT, DPT, MS
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    4670 Auto Mall Parkway, Room 104
    Fremont, CA 94538
    Program Director: 510/896-7590
    SReese@unitekcollege.edu

    COLORADO

    Pikes Peak Community College
    Joseph M Miller, PT, DSc, OCS, SCS, CSCS
    Program Chair
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    5675 South Academy Boulevard
    Colorado Springs, CO 80907
    Program Director: 719/502-3486
    JosephM.Miller@ppcc.edu

    FLORIDA

    ECPI University-Florida
    Michael Tabo, PT, DPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    660 Century Point, Suite 1050
    Lake Mary, FL 32746
    Phone: 407/562-9100
    mtabo@ecpi.edu

    GEORGIA

    South College-Atlanta Campus
    R. Jeremy Kirschner, PT, DPT, ATC, CSCS
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    2600 Century Parkway NE
    Atlanta, GA 30345-3125
    Program Director: 470/322-1215
    jkirschner@south.edu

    ILLINOIS

    Illinois Eastern Community College – Wabash Valley College
    Lisa Hoipkemier, DPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    2200 College Drive
    Mt Carmel, IL 62863-2699
    Program Director: 618/262-8641
    hoipkemierl@iecc.edu

    Prairie State College
    Carol Fawcett, PTA, MEd
    Assistant Professor/Coordinator
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    202 South Halsted Street
    Chicago Heights, IL 60411-8226
    Program Director: 708/709-2947
    cfawcett@prairiestate.edu

    Rasmussen College - Aurora - Naperville
    Christina Odeh, PT, MHS, DHSc
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    2363 Sequoia Drive
    Aurora, IL 60506
    Program Director: 630/888-3541
    Christina.Odeh@rasmussen.edu

    MARYLAND

    Frederick Community College
    Amelia Iams, PT, DPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    7932 Opossumtown Pike
    Frederick, MD 21702
    Program Director: 301/846-2400
    aiams@frederick.edu

    MISSISSIPPI

    Northwest Mississippi Community College
    Barton Allen, PT, DPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    4975 Highway 51 North
    Senatobia, MS 38668-1714
    Program Director: 662/562-3247
    ballen@northwestms.edu

    NORTH CAROLINA

    Central Carolina Community College
    Shelly Watkins, DPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    75 Ballentrae Court
    Pittsboro, NC 27312
    Program Director: 910/814-8989
    swatkins@cccc.edu

    OHIO

    Lakeland Community College
    Jason H Ashby, PT, MPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    7700 Clocktower Dr., Building H
    Kirtland, OH 44094-5198
    Program Director: 440/525-7470
    jashby5@lakelandcc.edu

    OKLAHOMA

    Southern Nazarene University
    Loren McElroy, DPT, PT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    Broadhurst, Room 203, 6729 NW 39th Expressway
    Bethany, OK 73008-2764
    Program Director: 405/491-6630
    LMartin@mail.snu.edu

    OREGON

    Institute of Technology - Salem Campus
    Enid Halewyn, PT, DPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    4700 Silverton RD SE
    Salem, OR 97305
    Program Director: 503/363-9001
    ehalewyn@iot.edu

    TENNESSEE

    Freed-Hardeman University
    Ashely Prentice, PT, DPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    158 E Main Street
    Henderson, TN 38340-2398
    Program Director: 731/989-6004
    aprentice@fhu.edu

    TEXAS

    Collin College
    Michael Cox, PT, DPT, OCS, SCS
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    2550 Bending Branch Way
    Allen, TX 75013
    Program Director: 972/549-6319
    mcox@collin.edu

    Rio Grande Valley College
    Minerva Gatling, PT, DPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    5419 North Cage Boulevard
    Pharr, TX 78577
    Program Director:956/781-6800
    mgatling@rgvcollege.edu

    VIRGINIA

    Virginia Western Community College
    Jordan M Tucker, PT, DPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    3091 Colonial Avenue
    Roanoke, VA 24015
    Program Director: 540/857-6728
    jtucker@virginiawestern.edu

    WEST VIRGINIA

    New River Community and Technical College
    Angela M Strickland, PT, DPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapist Assistant Program
    280 University Drive
    Beaver, WV 25813
    Program Director: 304/929-5036
    astrickland@newriver.edu

  • Last Updated: 9/1/2020
    Contact: accreditation@apta.org