• (A) Candidates for Accreditation

    These programs have admitted at least one class of students and have been granted Candidate for Accreditation status by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education. Candidacy status indicates that a program is making satisfactory progress toward compliance with accreditation criteria, but it does not assure that a program will achieve accreditation. (Note: Date indicates anticipated graduation of first class.)

    ALABAMA

    Samford University
    Matthew P Ford, PT, PhD
    Chair and Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    800 Lakeshore Drive
    Birmingham, AL 35229
    Program: 205/726-4435
    Email: mford2@samford.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2018

    ARKANSAS

    University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
    John Jefferson, PT, PhD
    Chair & Associate Professor
    University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
    1125 N College Ave
    Fayetteville, AR 72703-1908
    Program: 479/713-8600
    Email: ptprogram@uams.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2018

    FLORIDA

    Adventist University of Health Sciences
    Jennifer Collins, PT, EdD, MPA
    Chair
    Physical Therapy Program
    671 Winyah Drive
    Orlando, FL 32803-1226
    Program: 407/303-9904
    Email: jennifer.collins@adu.edu
    First Class Graduates: 04/2019

    Gannon University
    Richard Johnson, PT, EdD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    105 Commercial Drive
    Ruskin, FL 33573
    Program: 631/909-3752
    johnson171@gannon.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2020

    GEORGIA

    Brenau University
    Kathye E Light, PT, PhD
    Chair
    Physical Therapy Program
    500 Washington Street SE
    Gainesville, GA 30501-3628
    Program: 770/534-6145
    Email: klight@brenau.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2018

    INDIANA

    Indiana State University
    Howell Tapley, PT, PhD, OCS
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    Sycamore Center for Wellness & Applied Medicine, Room 248
    Terre Haute, IN 47809
    Program: 812/237-4428
    Email: howell.tapley@indstate.edu
    First Class Graduates: 5/2018

    IOWA

    Briar Cliff University
    Patrick S Cross, PT, DPT, RHF
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    3303 Rebecca Street
    Sioux City, IA 51104-0100
    Program: 712/279-1708
    Email: patrick.cross@briarcliff.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2018

    MISSISSIPPI

    William Carey University
    Dr. Cynthia Scott, PT, MBA, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    710 William Carey Parkway
    Hattiesburg, MS 39401
    Program: 601/318-6679
    Email: cscott@wmcarey.edu
    First Class Graduates: 08/2019

    NEW HAMPSHIRE

    Plymouth State University
    Sean Collins, PT, ScD
    Chair and Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    17 High Street, MSC#58
    Plymouth, NH 03264
    Program: 603/535-2891
    Email:smcollins1@plymouth.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2020

    NEW JERSEY

    Kean University
    Shannon N Clifford, PT, PhD, MPT
    Executive Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    1000 Morris Ave
    Union, NJ 07083
    Program: 908/737-5998
    Email: cliffosh@kean.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2019

    NEW YORK

    Marist College
    Claudia B. Fenderson, PT, EdD, PCS
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    3399 North Road
    Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-3586
    Program: 845/575-3228 Ext. 2036
    Email: claudia.fenderson@marist.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/31/2020

    NORTH CAROLINA

    High Point University
    Eric J. Hegedus, PT, DPT, MHSC, OCS, CSCS
    Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    833 Montlieu Avenue
    High Point, NC 27262-3598
    Program: 336/841-4539
    Email: ehegedus@highpoint.edu
    First Class Graduates: 04/2020

    Methodist University
    Todd A Telemeco, PT, DPT, PhD
    Director and Chair
    Physical Therapy Program
    5400 Ramsey Street
    Fayetteville, NC 28311-1498
    Program: 910/630-7216
    Email: ttelemeco@methodist.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2018

    OHIO

    University of Mount Union
    Robert M Frampton, PT, DHCE
    Chairperson/Director Physical Therapy
    1972 Clark Ave
    Alliance, OH 44601
    Program: 330/823-4786
    Email: framptrm@mountunion.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2019

    PENNSYLVANIA

    Alvernia University
    Christopher H Wise, PT, DPT, OCS, FAAOMPT, MTC, ATC
    Program Director and Associate Professor
    Physical Therapy Program
    400 Saint Bernardine Street
    Reading, PA 19607-1733
    Program: 610/230-5708
    Email: christopher.wise@alvernia.edu
    First Class Graduates: 08/2018

    TEXAS

    Baylor University Graduate School
    Michael Walker, PT, DSc
    Program Director and Clinical Professor
    Physical Therapy Program
    One Bear Place #97096
    Waco, TX 76798
    Program: 210/324-3186
    Email:michael_j_walker@baylor.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/14/2019

    VIRGINIA

    Emory & Henry College
    Dr. Jean M. Irion, PT, EdD, SCS, ATC
    Professor and Chair, Department of Physical Therapy
    Physical Therapy Program
    601 Radio Hill Road
    Marion, VA 24354
    Program: 276/944-6753
    Email: jirion@ehc.edu
    First Class Graduates: 08/2018

    (B) Applicants for Candidacy: Application for Candidacy Submitted

    These programs are in varying degrees of development. They have begun the process toward accreditation by submitting an Application for Candidacy. The Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education has not yet granted Candidate for Accreditation status to these programs.

    (C) Programs with Full-Time Program Director

    These programs are placed on this list when the Department of Accreditation is officially notified that a Program Director has been employed. These programs are in the early stages of development; no students have been admitted.

    FLORIDA

    Florida Southern College
    Nancy Nuzzo, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    111 Lake Hollingsworth Drive
    Lakeland, FL 33801-5698
    Program: 863/680-5126
    Email: nnuzzo@flsouthern.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2022

    GEORGIA

    Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine - Suwanee
    Phillip Palmer, PT, MHE, MA, PhD
    Professor & Department Chair
    Physical Therapy Program
    625 Old Peachtree Road NW
    Suwanee, GA 30024
    Program: 770/682-2305
    Email: phillippa@pcom.edu

    LOUISIANA

    Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady University
    Timothy Kirk Nelson, MPT, PhD
    Director, DPT Program
    Doctor of Physical Therapy
    School of Health Professions
    5414 Brittany Drive
    Program: 225/490-1674 
    Email:  Timothy.Nelson@ololcollege.edu

    MICHIGAN

    Western Michigan University
    Stacie Fruth, PT, DHSc, OCS
    Founding Chair and Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    1903 W Michigan Avenue
    Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5243
    Program Director: 269/387-8881
    Email:stacie.fruth@wmich.edu

    OHIO

    Kettering College
    Thomas Birk, PhD., MPT
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    3737 Southern Blvd.
    Kettering, OH 45429
    Program: 937/395-8837
    Email: Thomas.birk@kc.edu

    OKLAHOMA

    Oklahoma City University
    Maria Jones, PT, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    2501 N. Blackwelder Ave
    Oklahoma City, OK 73106
    Program: 405/208-6276
    Email: mjones1@okcu.edu

    PENNSYLVANIA

    Messiah College
    Valerie Olson, PT, PhD
    Program Director and Associate Professor
    Physical Therapy Program
    401 East Winding Hill Road, Suite 100
    Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
    Program: 717/796-1800
    Email: volson@messiah.edu

    SOUTH CAROLINA

    Anderson University
    Martha Rammel Hinman, PT, DPT, EdD, MHEd
    Program Director and Professor
    Physical Therapy Program
    225 S. Pleasantburg Dr., Suite E-7
    Greenville, SC 29607
    Program: 864/231-5513
    Email: mhinman@andersonuniversity.edu

  • Last Updated: 11/17/2017
    Contact: accreditation@apta.org