• (A) Candidates for Accreditation

    These programs have admitted at least one class of students and have been granted Candidate for Accreditation status by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education. Candidacy status indicates that a program is making satisfactory progress toward compliance with accreditation criteria, but it does not assure that a program will achieve accreditation. (Note: Date indicates anticipated graduation of first class.)

    FLORIDA

    Florida Southern College
    Nancy Nuzzo, PT, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    111 Lake Hollingsworth Drive
    Lakeland, FL 33801-5698
    Program: 863/680-5126
    Email: nnuzzo@flsouthern.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/2021

    Gannon University
    Richard Johnson, PT, EdD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    105 Commercial Drive
    Ruskin, FL 33573
    Program: 631/909-3752
    johnson171@gannon.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2020

    GEORGIA

    Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine - Georgia
    Phillip B Palmer, PT, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    625 Old Peachtree Road NW
    Suwanee, GA 30024-2937
    Program: 770/682-2305
    Email: phillippa@pcom.edu
    First Class Graduates: 06/2021

    LOUISIANA

    Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady University
    Timothy Kirk Nelson, PT, PhD
    Director, DPT Program
    Doctor of Physical Therapy
    School of Health Professions
    5414 Brittany Drive
    Program: 225/490-1674 
    Email:  Timothy.Nelson@ololcollege.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2021

    MICHIGAN

    Western Michigan University
    Stacie Fruth, PT, DHSc, OCS
    Founding Chair and Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    1903 W Michigan Avenue
    Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5243
    Program Director: 269/387-8881
    Email:stacie.fruth@wmich.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/2021

    MISSISSIPPI

    William Carey University
    Cynthia Scott, PT, MBA, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    710 William Carey Parkway
    Hattiesburg, MS 39401
    Program: 601/318-6679
    Email: cscott@wmcarey.edu
    First Class Graduates: 08/2019

    NEW HAMPSHIRE

    Plymouth State University
    Sean Collins, PT, ScD
    Chair and Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    17 High Street, MSC#68
    Plymouth, NH 03264
    Program: 603/535-2891
    Email:smcollins1@plymouth.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2020

    NEW YORK

    Marist College
    Claudia B Fenderson, PT, EdD, PCS
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    3399 North Road
    Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-3586
    Program: 845/575-3228 Ext. 2036
    Email: claudia.fenderson@marist.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/2020

    NORTH CAROLINA

    High Point University
    Eric J Hegedus, PT, DPT, MHSC, OCS, CSCS
    Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    833 Montlieu Avenue
    High Point, NC 27262-3598
    Program: 336/841-4539
    Email: ehegedus@highpoint.edu
    First Class Graduates: 04/2020

    PENNSYLVANIA

    Messiah College
    Valerie Olson, PT, PhD
    Program Director and Associate Professor
    Physical Therapy Program
    401 East Winding Hill Road, Suite 100
    Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
    Program: 717/796-1800
    Email: volson@messiah.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2022

    SOUTH CAROLINA

    Anderson University
    Martha Rammel Hinman, PT, DPT, EdD, MHEd
    Program Director and Professor
    Physical Therapy Program
    225 S. Pleasantburg Dr., Suite E-7
    Greenville, SC 29607
    Program: 864/231-5513
    Email: mhinman@andersonuniversity.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/2021

    TEXAS

    Baylor University Graduate School
    Michael Walker, PT, DSc
    Program Director and Clinical Professor
    Physical Therapy Program
    One Bear Place #97096
    Waco, TX 76798
    Program: 210/324-3186
    Email:michael_j_walker@baylor.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/2019

    (B) Applicants for Candidacy: Application for Candidacy Submitted

    These programs are in varying degrees of development. They have begun the process toward accreditation by submitting an Application for Candidacy. The Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education has not yet granted Candidate for Accreditation status to these programs.

    OKLAHOMA

    Oklahoma City University
    Maria Jones, PT, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    2501 N. Blackwelder Avenue
    Oklahoma City, OK 73106
    Program: 405/208-6276
    Email: mjones1@okcu.edu

    (C) Programs with Full-Time Program Director

    These programs are placed on this list when the Department of Accreditation is officially notified that a Program Director has been employed. These programs are in the early stages of development; no students have been admitted.

    ALABAMA

    Faulkner University
    Heather E Mount, PT, DSc, cert MDT, OCS
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    5345 Atlanta Highway
    Montgomery, AL 36109-3390
    Program: 334/386-7379
    Email: hmount@faulkner.edu

    ARIZONA

    Creighton University-Arizona Health Education Alliance
    James V Lynskey, PT, PhD
    Program Director
    Doctor of Physical Therapy Program
    4001 N. 3rd Street, Suite 290
    Phoenix, AZ 85012
    Program: 602/812-3131
    Email: jameslynskey@creighton.edu

    ARKANSAS

    Arkansas Colleges of Health Education
    Clayton F Holmes, PT, EdD, MS, ATC
    Program Director and Dean
    Physical Therapy Program
    7000 Chad Colley Boulevard
    Fort Smith, AR 72916-6024
    Program: 479/401-6020
    Email: clayton.holmes@acheedu.org

    INDIANA

    Hanover College
    Kerry Volansky, PT, DSc, MBA, OCS
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    517 Ball Drive, Office 106 Long Administration Building
    Hanover, IN 47243
    Program: 812/866-7030
    Email: volansky@hanover.edu

    Indiana Wesleyan University
    Rosanne Thomas, PT, MS, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    4201 S. Washington St.
    Marion, IN 46953-4974
    Program: 765/677-3698
    Email: Rosanne.thomas@indwes.edu

    IOWA

    Allen College
    Elisa M Zuber, PT, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    1825 Logan Avenue
    Waterloo, IA 50703-1999
    Program: 319/226-2559
    Email: elisa.zuber@allencollege.edu

    KENTUCKY

    Spalding University
    John Nyland, PT, DPT, SCS, EdD, ATC, CSCS, FACSM
    Program Director
    Doctor of Physical Therapy Program
    901 South 3rd Street
    Louisville, KY 40203-3205
    Program: 502/873-4224
    Email: jnyland@spalding.edu

    LOUISIANA

    University of Louisiana Monroe
    Lisa VanHoose, PT, PhD, MPH
    Program Director
    Doctor of Physical Therapy Program
    700 University Avenue, Sugar Hall Suite 306
    Monroe, LA 71209-0410
    Program: 318/342-7944
    Email: vanhoose@ulm.edu

    MASSACHUSETTS

    Tufts University
    John D Childs, PT, PhD, MBA, FAPTA
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    136 Harrison Ave
    Boston, MA 02111-1817
    Program: 864/231-5513
    Email:john.childs@tufts.edu

    NEBRASKA

    College of Saint Mary
    Kimberly Varnado, PT, DPT, DHSc
    Associate Professor
    Physical Therapy Program
    7000 Mercy Road
    Omaha, NE 68106
    Program Director: 402/399-2305
    Email:kvarnado@csm.edu

    NEW YORK

    St John’s University
    Teresa Miller, PT, PhD, GCFP
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    8000 Utopia Parkway
    Queens, NY 11439
    Program Director: 718/990-8457
    Email:millert@stjohns.edu

    OHIO

    Kettering College
    Thomas Birk, PT, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    3737 Southern Blvd.
    Kettering, OH 45429
    Program: 937/395-8837
    Email: Thomas.birk@kc.edu

    OREGON

    Oregon State University-Cascades
    Christine D Pollard, PT, PhD
    Founding Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    1500 SW Chandler Avenue
    Bend, OR 97702
    Program: 541/322-3122
    Email: christine.pollard@osucascades.edu

    PENNSYLVANIA

    Moravian College
    Mary Anne Riopel, PT, DPT, PhD, OCS
    Program Director/Associate Professor
    Doctor of Physical Therapy Program
    1441 Schoenersville Road
    Bethlehem, PA 18018-6650
    Program: 610/625-7213
    Email: riopelm@moravian.edu

    Seton Hill University
    Craig Ruby, PT, DEd, MPT
    Program Director
    Department of Physical Therapy
    1 Seton Hill Drive
    Greensburg, PA 15601-1599
    Program: 724/830-1208
    Email:cruby@setonhill.edu

    SOUTH CAROLINA

    Charleston Southern University
    Jacob N Thorp, PT, DHS
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    9200 University Boulevard
    Charleston, SC 29423-8087
    Program Director: 843/863.7181
    Email: jthorp@csuniv.edu

    TENNESSEE

    Lincoln Memorial University
    Michael S Brogan, PT, DPT, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    9737 Cogdill Road
    Knoxville, TN 37932-3300
    Program Director: 423/869-7200
    Email: michael.brogan@lmunet.edu

    TEXAS

    The University of St. Augustine for Health Sciences
    Thomas P Werner, PT, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    5010 Riverside Drive
    Irving, TX 75039-4300
    Program Director: 737/202-3340
    Email: twerner@usa.edu

    WISCONSIN

    University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
    Kathryn R Zalewski, PT, PhD, MPA
    Program Director
    Doctor of Physical Therapy Program
    110D CPS, 1901 Fourth Avenue
    Stevens Point, WI 54481-3897
    Program Director: 715/346-2535
    Email: kzalewsk@uwsp.edu

  • Last Updated: 8/7/2019
    Contact: accreditation@apta.org