• (A) Candidates for Accreditation

    These programs have admitted at least one class of students and have been granted Candidate for Accreditation status by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education. Candidacy status indicates that a program is making satisfactory progress toward compliance with accreditation criteria, but it does not assure that a program will achieve accreditation. (Note: Date indicates anticipated graduation of first class.)

    FLORIDA

    AdventHealth University
    Jennifer Collins, PT, EdD, MPA
    Chair
    Physical Therapy Program
    671 Winyah Drive
    Orlando, FL 32803-1226
    Program: 407/303-9904
    Email: jennifer.collins@adu.edu
    First Class Graduates: 04/2019

    Gannon University
    Richard Johnson, PT, EdD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    105 Commercial Drive
    Ruskin, FL 33573
    Program: 631/909-3752
    johnson171@gannon.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2020

    GEORGIA

    Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine - Suwanee
    Phillip B. Palmer, PT, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    625 Old Peachtree Road NW
    Suwanee, GA 30024-2937
    Program: 770/682-2305
    Email: phillippa@pcom.edu
    First Class Graduates: 06/2021

    LOUISIANA

    Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady University
    Timothy Kirk Nelson, PT, PhD
    Director, DPT Program
    Doctor of Physical Therapy
    School of Health Professions
    5414 Brittany Drive
    Program: 225/490-1674 
    Email:  Timothy.Nelson@ololcollege.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2021

    MISSISSIPPI

    William Carey University
    Dr. Cynthia Scott, PT, MBA, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    710 William Carey Parkway
    Hattiesburg, MS 39401
    Program: 601/318-6679
    Email: cscott@wmcarey.edu
    First Class Graduates: 08/2019

    NEW HAMPSHIRE

    Plymouth State University
    Sean Collins, PT, ScD
    Chair and Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    17 High Street, MSC#68
    Plymouth, NH 03264
    Program: 603/535-2891
    Email:smcollins1@plymouth.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2020

    NEW JERSEY

    Kean University
    Shannon N Clifford, PT, PhD
    Executive Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    1000 Morris Ave
    Union, NJ 07083
    Program: 908/737-5998
    Email: cliffosh@kean.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2019

    NEW YORK

    Marist College
    Claudia B. Fenderson, PT, EdD, PCS
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    3399 North Road
    Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-3586
    Program: 845/575-3228 Ext. 2036
    Email: claudia.fenderson@marist.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/2020

    NORTH CAROLINA

    High Point University
    Eric J. Hegedus, PT, DPT, MHSC, OCS, CSCS
    Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    833 Montlieu Avenue
    High Point, NC 27262-3598
    Program: 336/841-4539
    Email: ehegedus@highpoint.edu
    First Class Graduates: 04/2020

    OHIO

    University of Mount Union
    Robert M Frampton, PT, DHCE
    Chairperson/Director Physical Therapy
    1972 Clark Ave
    Alliance, OH 44601
    Program: 330/823-4786
    Email: framptrm@mountunion.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2019

    PENNSYLVANIA

    Messiah College
    Valerie Olson, PT, PhD
    Program Director and Associate Professor
    Physical Therapy Program
    401 East Winding Hill Road, Suite 100
    Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
    Program: 717/796-1800
    Email: volson@messiah.edu
    First Class Graduates:

    TEXAS

    Baylor University Graduate School
    Michael Walker, PT, DSc
    Program Director and Clinical Professor
    Physical Therapy Program
    One Bear Place #97096
    Waco, TX 76798
    Program: 210/324-3186
    Email:michael_j_walker@baylor.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/2019

    (B) Applicants for Candidacy: Application for Candidacy Submitted

    These programs are in varying degrees of development. They have begun the process toward accreditation by submitting an Application for Candidacy. The Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education has not yet granted Candidate for Accreditation status to these programs.

    FLORIDA

    Florida Southern College
    Nancy Nuzzo, PT, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    111 Lake Hollingsworth Drive
    Lakeland, FL 33801-5698
    Program: 863/680-5126
    Email: nnuzzo@flsouthern.edu

    MICHIGAN

    Western Michigan University
    Stacie Fruth, PT, DHSc, OCS
    Founding Chair and Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    1903 W Michigan Avenue
    Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5243
    Program Director: 269/387-8881
    Email:stacie.fruth@wmich.edu

    SOUTH CAROLINA

    Anderson University
    Martha Rammel Hinman, PT, DPT, EdD, MHEd
    Program Director and Professor
    Physical Therapy Program
    225 S. Pleasantburg Dr., Suite E-7
    Greenville, SC 29607
    Program: 864/231-5513
    Email: mhinman@andersonuniversity.edu

    (C) Programs with Full-Time Program Director

    These programs are placed on this list when the Department of Accreditation is officially notified that a Program Director has been employed. These programs are in the early stages of development; no students have been admitted.

    ALABAMA

    Faulkner University
    Heather E. Mount, PT, DSc, cert MDT, OCS
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    5345 Atlanta Highway
    Montgomery, AL 36109-3390
    Program: 334/386-7379
    Email: hmount@faulkner.edu

    INDIANA

    Hanover College
    Kerry Volansky, PT, DSc, MBA, OCS
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    517 Ball Drive, Office 106 Long Administration Building
    Hanover, IN 47243
    Program: 812/866-7030
    Email: volansky@hanover.edu

    Indiana Wesleyan University
    Rosanne Thomas, PT, MS, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    4201 S. Washington St.
    Marion, IN 46953-4974
    Program: 765/677-3698
    Email: Rosanne.thomas@indwes.edu

    IOWA

    Allen College
    Elisa M. Zuber, PT, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    1825 Logan Avenue
    Waterloo, IA 50703-1999
    Program: 319/226-2559
    Email: elisa.zuber@allencollege.edu

    MASSACHUSETTS

    Tufts University
    John D. Childs, PT, PhD, MBA, FAPTA
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    136 Harrison Ave
    Boston, MA 02111-1817
    Program: 864/231-5513
    Email:john.childs@tufts.edu

    NEBRASKA

    College of Saint Mary
    Kimberly Varnado, PT, DPT, DHSc
    Associate Professor
    Physical Therapy Program
    7000 Mercy Road
    Omaha, NE 68106
    Program Director: 402/399-2305
    Email:kvarnado@csm.edu

    OHIO

    Kettering College
    Thomas Birk, PT, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    3737 Southern Blvd.
    Kettering, OH 45429
    Program: 937/395-8837
    Email: Thomas.birk@kc.edu

    Ohio Dominican University
    Stephanie Carter-Kelley, P.T., Ph.D
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    1216 Sunbury Rd.
    Columbus, OH 43219
    Program: 614/251-4356
    Email: kelleys2@ohiodominican.edu

    OKLAHOMA

    Oklahoma City University
    Maria Jones, PT, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    2501 N. Blackwelder Ave
    Oklahoma City, OK 73106
    Program: 405/208-6276
    Email: mjones1@okcu.edu

    PENNSYLVANIA

    Moravian College
    Mary Anne Riopel, PT, DPT, PhD, OCS
    Program Director/Associate Professor
    Doctor of Physical Therapy Program
    1441 Schoenersville Road
    Bethlehem, PA 18018-6650
    Program: 610/625-7213
    Email: riopelm@moravian.edu

    TEXAS

    The University of St. Augustine for Health Sciences
    Thomas P. Werner, PT, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    5010 Riverside Drive
    Irving, TX 75039-4300
    Program Director: 737/202-3340
    Email: twerner@usa.edu

  • Last Updated: 12/3/2018
    Contact: accreditation@apta.org