• Reduce font size | Increase font size Text Size

Developing PT Programs

  • (A) Candidates for Accreditation

    These programs have admitted at least one class of students and have been granted Candidate for Accreditation status by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education. Candidacy status indicates that a program is making satisfactory progress toward compliance with accreditation criteria, but it does not assure that a program will achieve accreditation. (Note: Date indicates anticipated graduation of first class.)

    ALABAMA

    Samford University
    Matthew P Ford, PT, PhD
    Chair and Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    800 Lakeshore Drive
    Birmingham, AL 35229
    Program: 205/726-4435
    Email: mford2@samford.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2018

    CALIFORNIA

    West Coast University
    Stanley Hartgraves, PT, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    509 N Vermont Avenue
    Los Angeles, CA 90004
    Program: 949/783-4800
    Email: shartgraves@westcoastuniversity.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/2017

    GEORGIA

    Brenau University
    Kathye E Light, PT, PhD
    Chair
    Physical Therapy Program
    500 Washington Street SE
    Gainesville, GA 30501-3628
    Program: 770/534-6145
    Email: klight@brenau.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2018

    INDIANA

    Trine University
    Max Baumgartner, PT, PhD
    Director and Dean
    Physical Therapy Program
    One University Avenue
    Angola, IN 46703-1764
    Program: 260/665-4154
    Email: baumgartnerm@trine.edu
    First Class Graduates: 5/2017

    Indiana State University
    Howell Tapley, PT, PhD, OCS
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    Sycamore Center for Wellness & Applied Medicine, Room 248
    Terre Haute, IN 47809
    Program: 812/237-4428
    Email: howell.tapley@indstate.edu
    First Class Graduates: 5/2018

    IOWA

    Briar Cliff University
    Patrick S Cross, PT, DPT, RHF
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    3303 Rebecca Street
    Sioux City, IA 51104-0100
    Program: 712/279-1708
    Email: patrick.cross@briarcliff.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2018

    KENTUCKY

    Western Kentucky University
    Harvey W Wallmann, PT, DSc, SCS, ATC, CSCS
    Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    1906 College Heights Boulevard, #21031
    Bowling Green, KY 42101-1031
    Program: 270/745-7003
    Email: harvey.wallmann@wku.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2016

    MINNESOTA

    Concordia University-Saint Paul
    Peter J Rundquist, PT, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    275 Syndicate Street North
    Saint Paul, MN 55104-5494
    Program: 651/603-6294
    Email: rundquist@csp.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2017

    NORTH CAROLINA

    Campbell University
    Gregory S Dedrick, PT, ScD, OCS, COMT
    Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    PO Box 1090, 205 Day Dorm Road
    Buies Creek, NC 27506
    Program: 910/893-1758
    Email: dedrickg@campbell.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/2016

    Wingate University
    Kevin E Brueilly, PT, PhD
    Director and Associate Professor
    Physical Therapy Program
    515 N Main Street
    Wingate, NC 28174-3087
    Program: 704/233-8358
    Email: k.brueilly@wingate.edu
    First Class Graduates: 12/2016

    NORTH DAKOTA

    University of Jamestown
    Nancy Nuzzo, PT, PhD
    Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    4190 26th Avenue South
    Fargo, ND 58104
    Program: 701/356-2136
    Email: nnuzzo@jc.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2016

    PENNSYLVANIA

    Alvernia University
    Christopher H Wise, PT, DPT, OCS, FAAOMPT, MTC, ATC
    Program Director and Associate Professor
    Physical Therapy Program
    400 Saint Bernardine Street
    Reading, PA 19607-1733
    Program: 610/230-5708
    Email: christopher.wise@alvernia.edu
    First Class Graduates: 08/2018

    DeSales University
    Kay Malek, PT, PhD
    Associate Professor/Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    2755 Station Avenue
    Center Valley, PA 18034-9568
    Program: 610/282-1100, ext 1839
    Email: kay.malek@desales.edu
    First Class Graduates: 08/2017

    TENNESSEE

    South College
    Michael J Walker, PT, DSc
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    400 Goody's Lane
    Knoxville, TN 37922
    Program: 210/757-0606
    Email: mwalker1@southcollegetn.edu
    First Class Graduates: 06/2017

    VIRGINIA

    Emory & Henry College
    Dr. A Louise Fincher, EdD, ATC, LAT
    Interim Program Director and Dean
    Physical Therapy Program
    30641 Garnand Drive
    Wiley Hall 001
    PO Box 947
    Emory, VA 24327-0947
    Program: 276/944-6341
    Email: lfincher@ehc.edu
    First Class Graduates: 08/2018

    Mary Baldwin College
    Murphy Deming College of Health Sciences
    Lisa Donegan Shoaf, PT, DPT, PhD
    Founding Director & Professor
    Physical Therapy Program
    PO Box 1500
    Staunton, VA 24402-1500
    Program: 540/887-4317
    Email: lshoaf@mbc.edu
    First Class Graduates: 05/2017

    (B) Applicants for Candidacy: Application for Candidacy Submitted

    These programs are in varying degrees of development. They have begun the process toward accreditation by submitting an Application for Candidacy. The Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education has not yet granted Candidate for Accreditation status to these programs.

    ARKANSAS

    University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
    John Jefferson, PT, PhD
    Chair & Associate Professor
    University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
    1125 N College Ave
    Fayetteville, AR 72703-1908
    Program: 479/713-8665
    Email: jrjefferson@uams.edu

    FLORIDA

    Adventist University of Health Sciences
    Jennifer Collins, PT, EdD, MPA
    Chair
    Physical Therapy Program
    671 Winyah Drive
    Orlando, FL 32803-1226
    Program: 407/303-9904
    Email: jennifer.collins@adu.edu

    NORTH CAROLINA

    Methodist University
    Todd A Telemeco, PT, DPT, PhD
    Director and Chair
    Physical Therapy Program
    5400 Ramsey Street
    Fayetteville, NC 28311-1498
    Program: 910/630-7216
    Email: ttelemeco@methodist.edu

    TEXAS

    University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
    Barbara Gresham, PT, PhD, MS, GCS
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    900 College Box 8010
    Belton, TX 76513
    Program: 254/366-5964
    Email: bgresham@umhb.edu

    (C) Programs with Full-time Program Director

    These programs are placed on this list when the Department of Accreditation is officially notified that a Program Director has been hired. These programs are in the early stages of development; no students have been admitted.

    MASSACHUSETTS

    Endicott College
    Z Annette Iglarsh, PT, PhD, MBA
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    376 Hale Street
    Beverly, MA 01915-2098
    Program: 978/927-7752
    Email: aiglarsh@endicott.edu

    MICHIGAN

    Davenport University
    Susan Klappa, PT, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    6191 Kraft Avenue S.E.
    Grand Rapids, MI 49512
    Program: 616/871-6160
    Email: sklappa@davenport.edu

    MISSISSIPPI

    William Carey University
    Dr. Cynthia Scott, PT, MBA, PhD
    Program Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    498 Tuscan Drive, Box 9
    Hattiesburg, MS 39104
    Program: 601/318-6679
    Email: cscott@wmcarey.edu

    NEW JERSEY

    Kean University
    Shannon N Clifford, PT, PhD, MPT
    Executive Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    1000 Morris Ave
    Union, NJ 07083
    Program: 908/737-5998
    Email: cliffosh@kean.edu

    NORTH CAROLINA

    High Point University
    Eric J. Hegedus, PT, DPT, MHSC, OCS, CSCS
    Director
    Physical Therapy Program
    833 Montlieu Avenue
    High Point, NC 27262-3598
    Program: 336/841-4539
    Email: ehegedus@highpoint.edu

    OHIO

    University of Mount Union
    Robert M Frampton, PT, DHCE, WCC
    Chairperson/Director Physical Therapy
    1972 Clark Ave
    Alliance, OH 44601
    Program: 330/823-4786
    Email: framptrm@mountunion.edu

  • American Physical Therapy Association | 1111 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314-1488 703/684-APTA (2782) | 800/999-2782 | 703/683-6748 (TDD) | 703/684-7343 (fax)